Venue

Coronation HallCoronation Hall

Coronation Hall was built in the 1930’s as a dance hall, and was named to celebrate the coronation of King George VI.  The historic village of Bristol, Quebec, was already an established tourist destination, welcoming visitors primarily from Montreal and Ottawa, who arrived by train.  Over the years, Coronation Hall saw many dances, wedding receptions, and other parties, and became a central part of the community’s social life.  By the 1960’s business faded and the rustic dance hall closed down.  Over the next thirty years, the hall was used for storage, neglected and all but forgotten.

 

In early 2003, Coronation Hall was acquired by the Graham family who were looking for a location where they could process apples into high quality sweet, sparkling, and ice ciders, and also welcome visitors.  On October 11, 2008, Cidrerie Coronation Hall Cider Mills celebrated its gala opening and became Pontiac County’s first licensed winery, making ‘Bristol Light Cider’.

 

The Graham family business also makes non-alcoholic apple and raspberry cider, and offers a variety of jams, jellies and baked goods that can be purchased or savored in the tea room and gift shop. 

 

Coronation Cider Mills is open for tours, tastings, orchard visits and high tea.

 

In 2012, Gary, Norma and Greg Graham opened the doors of Coronation Hall for the première season of Under the Pines Music Festival. Once again the glorious acoustics were put to use, and the sounds of music resonated from the rustic dance hall. Under the Pines is thrilled to return to Coronation Hall in 2013 for a second season bringing classical music to the beautiful Pontiac region.

 

For more information about Cidreie Coronation Cider Mills, visit their website:
www.coronationhall.com  and facebook Or contact Greg Graham at: 819-647-2547


Coronation Hall Cider Mills
206 River Road, Bristol, Quebec  
J0X 1G0

info@coronationhall.com

g.w.graham@coronationhall.com

 

Open May to December
Tuesday to Saturday 10am-4pm
Sunday 1pm-4pm
Or by reservation

 


View Larger Map

 

 

 

St. Mary's Church, Quyon, QuebecSt. Mary's Church

The Church of the Holy Name of Mary, more commonly known as St. Mary’s Church, is on the Ottawa River, in the town of Quyon, Quebec. The village, already the site of the Sainte-Marie Mission, was founded in 1848 and derived its name from the Quyon River. Originally the town was spelled "Quio", from the Algonquin word kweia (pronounced "quia"), meaning "Smaller River" or "river with a sandy bottom".
 
Champlain was probably the first white man to see the mouth of the Quio River on his way up the Ottawa River in 1613. This long established waterway of the natives soon became well known to the fur traders, voyageurs and missionaries. As this new fur trade sprang up along the Ottawa River, trading posts or forts were set up, including one at Quyon in 1821.
 
The area was settled by Irish immigrants after the Irish Potato Famine.  In 1875, the village was incorporated and its spelling was changed to "Quyon" to provide a pronunciation acceptable to French and English-speaking residents. 
 
In 1877, the early mission chapel was replaced by a frame building, veneered with brick.  In 1907-1908, this structure was surrounded by a large stone church, with a beautifully designed interior.  It is the church that stands today and is an example of Classical Revival Quebec Architecture with Romanesque and Gothic elements. In the ancient tradition, St. Mary’s points to the east.
 
While the actual church is Romanesque, the spire shows a Gothic influence, below which, is an open belfry supported by four Corinthian columns topped with four pineapples, that point towards the four corners of the earth.  Not often seen in Christian art, the pineapple is a symbol of welcome and hospitality.  The pineapple also symbolizes Christ because each plant gives its own life to produce a single fruit.
 
The main part of St. Mary’s is divided into the nave and the sanctuary.  While the foundations of the parish are Irish, a French and continental influence can be seen in the use of the fleur-de-lys stenciled throughout the church. This stylized lily symbolizes the trinity and Mary, and is also an emblem of the kings of France.
 
Well known Quebec artist Rose-Anne Monna, inspired by medieval French country churches, created three works that adorn the church, and represent Mary, patroness of St. Mary’s, the risen Christ and the Holy Family.
 
The church houses several restored plaster statues. Of particular interest is the statue of Mary that once stood over the high altar and a statue of St. Bridget of Ireland, that once stood in a church of that name in North Onslow.

 

St. Mary’s Church, situated on the banks of the Ottawa, is a testament to the rich culture and heritage of the Quyon area.

 

St. Mary’s Church,
5 John Street,
Quyon, Quebec 
J0X 2V0
*Not Wheelchair Accessible. 
If your require assistance to attend a concert please call 613-298-9806

 


View Larger Map

 

 

Coronation HallSaint-Alphonsus Church

St. Alphonsus of Liguori Church, Chapeau, Quebec

 

Saint-Alphonsus Church of Liguori Church, overlooking the picturesque village of Chapeau, on Allumette Island, is a magnificent stone structure built in 1888 by Montreal architect, Victor Roy.  Its Gothic spire, reaching upwards towards the sky, can be seen for miles around.  A plaque on the front of the church explains the different spellings of the church’s name in French and in English.

 

Allumette Island was first inhabited by the Algonquin Indians who wished to maintain control of trade on the Ottawa River.  In 1650 a battle with the Iroquois took place. With the annihilation of the Algonquins, the island returned to wilderness for some 170 years.

 

It was not until 1818 that Europeans began to settle Allumette Island.  They worked mostly as loggers, or for the Hudson's Bay Company, which had a fur trading post just upstream at Fort William.  The preferred transport route was still the river, so most families built their homes south on the island. 

 

In 1836 Fathers de Bellefeuille and Dupuis reported to the Bishop of Montreal that “sixty families were living on the Island”, and, “there should be an organized effort made for the religious interests of the settlers and Indians.”  In 1839 the church of Saint-Alphonse-de-l'Isle-aux-Allumettes Parish was built at Church Point.  In 1853 an intense fire destroyed almost all the buildings including the church, and thereafter, the population settled in the northern part of the island, on the current site of Chapeau village


In 1885 arrangements were made to erect the new stone church in Chapeau.  The cornerstone was blessed and dedicated to St. Alphonsus Liguori, December 12, 1888.

 

Saint-Alphonsus Church, built to serve as a cathedral, for a diocese that never materialized, has ministered to the people of the area for well over a century.  The historic building has two rood-lofts; the upper loft houses a grand pipe organ, designed and built by the Casavant Brothers of Saint-Hyacinthe, Quebec.  The entire church is one of painstaking craftsmanship, including the hand-painted murals, a pulpit that is the duplicate of that in Notre-Dame Cathedral in Paris, elegant sculptures, and a sculpted apostolic scene, imported from France. The splendid stained glass windows are true works of art.

The church, designated a Heritage Site by the Government of Quebec, has recently been restored, and remains a lasting testament to the faith of priests and people in the past.  

 

Saint-Alphonsus Church
Rue Saint-Jacques,
Chapeau, Quebec 
J0X 1M0
*Not Wheelchair Accessible.

Salles

Coronation HallCidrerie Coronation Hall

Coronation Hall, construit dans les années 1930 comme salle de danse, et a reçu ce nom en commémoration du couronnement du roi George VI. Le village historique de Bristol, au Québec, était déjà une destination touristique établie; il accueillait principalement des visiteurs de Montréal et d'Ottawa qui arrivaient par le train. Au fil des ans, Coronation Hall a vu beaucoup de danses, de réceptions de mariage et d'autres fêtes, et est devenu un élément central de la vie sociale de la communauté. Vers les années 1960, les affaires ont diminué et on a fermé la salle de danse rustique. Au cours des trente années qui ont suivi, la salle a été utilisée pour l'entreposage, négligée et presque oubliée.

 

Au début de 2003, Coronation Hall a été acquis par la famille Graham qui cherchait un endroit où elle pourrait traiter les pommes pour en faire un cidre de glace, doux et mousseux et de haute qualité, et y accueillir les visiteurs. Le 11 octobre 2008, la Cidrerie Coronation a fait son gala d'ouverture et est devenu le premier producteur agréé du comté de Pontiac à faire le ''cidre léger de Bristol''.

 

L'entreprise familiale Graham fait aussi un cidre sans alcool aux pommes et aux framboises, et offre une variété de confitures, gelées et pâtisseries qui peuvent être achetées ou savourées dans le salon de thé et boutique de cadeaux.

 

La Cidrerie Coronation Hall est ouverte pour des visites, des dégustations, des marches dans les vergers ou pour prendre le thé.

 

Gary, Norma et Greg Graham ont ouvert les portes de Coronation Hall en 2012 pour la première saison du Festival de musique Sous les pins. Une fois de plus l'acoustique remarquable a été mise à profit, et les sons de la musique résonnaient à nouveau dans la salle de danse rustique. Sous les pins est ravi de revenir à Coronation Hall en 2013 pour une deuxième saison et ramener la musique classique dans la belle région du Pontiac.

 

Pour plus d'informations sur la Cidrerie Coronation Hall, visitez leur site Web:
www.coronationhall.com et Facebook. Ou, communiquez avec Greg Graham au: 819-647-2547

 

Cidrerie Coronation Hall
206, chemin River,
Bristol (Québec)
J0X 1G0

info@coronationhall.com

g.w.graham@coronationhall.com

 

Ouvert de mai à décembre
Du mardi au samedi, de 10 h à 16 h
Le dimanche, de 13 h à 16 h
Ou sur réservation

 


View Larger Map

 

 

St. Mary's Church, Quyon, QuebecÉglise Sainte-Marie

L'église du Saint Nom de Marie, plus communément connue sous le nom de l'église Sainte-Marie, est située sur la rivière des Outaouais, dans le village de Quyon au Québec. Déjà sur le site de la Mission Sainte-Marie, le village a été fondé en 1848 et tire son nom de la rivière Quyon. Originalement, son nom s'orthographiait « Quio », de l'algonquin kweia (prononcé « quia »), qui signifie « petite rivière » ou « rivière avec un fond de sable ».

 

Champlain a été probablement le premier homme blanc à voir l'embouchure de la rivière Quio quand il remontait la rivière des Outaouais en 1613. Cette longue voie navigable des indigènes est rapidement devenue bien connu des commerçants de fourrures, des voyageurs et des missionnaires. Comme ce nouveau commerce de la fourrure se déployait le long de la rivière des Outaouais, des forts ou des comptoirs ont été mis érigés, dont un à Quyon, en 1821.

 

La région a été colonisée par des immigrants irlandais après la Grande Famine d'Irlande. En 1875, le village était incorporé et son orthographe changé pour « Quyon » afin de fournir une prononciation acceptable aux résidents français et anglo-saxons.

 

En 1877, la chapelle de la mission était remplacée par un bâtiment à ossature de bois avec briques. En 1907-1908, cette structure a été incluse dans une grande église en pierre, avec un intérieur magnifiquement conçu. C'est l'église que l'on voit aujourd'hui et qui est un exemple d'architecture néo-classique du Québec, avec ses éléments romans et gothiques. Et selon une tradition ancienne, l'église Sainte-Marie pointe vers l'est.

 

Alors que l'église actuelle est de style roman, la flèche montre une influence gothique, car en-dessous, se trouve un clocher ouvert soutenu par quatre colonnes corinthiennes surmontées de quatre ananas, qui pointent vers les quatre coins de la terre. Rarement utilisé dans l'art chrétien, l'ananas est un symbole d'hospitalité et de bienvenue. L'ananas symbolise aussi le Christ parce que chaque plante donne sa propre vie pour produire un seul fruit.

 

La partie principale de l'église Sainte-Marie est divisée par la nef et le sanctuaire. Alors que les fondements de la paroisse sont irlandais, une influence française et continentale peut être vue dans l'usage de la fleur de lys reproduite au pochoir partout dans l'église. Ce lys stylisé symbolise la Trinité et Marie, mais c'est également l'emblème des rois de France.

Bien connue au Québec, l'artiste Rose-Anne Monna, inspirée par les églises médiévales de la campagne française, a créé trois œuvres qui ornent l'église, et représentent Marie, patronne de Sainte-Marie, le Christ ressuscité et la Sainte Famille.
  
L'église abrite plusieurs statues en plâtre restaurées. Un intérêt particulier est la statue de Marie qui se trouvait autrefois sur le maître-autel et une statue de sainte Brigitte d'Irlande, qui se trouvait autrefois dans une église du même nom à Onslow Nord.

 

L'église Sainte-Marie, située sur les rives de la rivière des Outaouais, est un témoignage de la riche culture et du patrimoine de la région de Quyon.

 

Église Sainte-Marie
5, rue John,
Quyon (Québec)
J0X 2V0
* Non accessible aux fauteuils roulants
Si vous avez besoin d'assistance pour venir au concert, veuillez téléphoner au 613-298-9806 

 


View Larger Map

 

 

 

Coronation HallÉglise Saint-Alphonse

Église de Saint-Alphonse de Liguori, Chapeau (Québec)

 

L'église de Saint-Alphonse de Liguori dominant le pittoresque village de Chapeau sur l'Isle-aux-Allumettes, est un magnifique bâtiment en pierre construit en 1888 par l'architecte Victor Roy de Montréal. Sa flèche gothique pointant vers le ciel peut être vu à des milles à la ronde. Une plaque sur la façade de l'église explique les différentes orthographes identifiant l'église, en français et en anglais.

 

L'Isle-aux-Allumettes fut d'abord habitée par les Algonquins qui souhaitaient garder le contrôle du commerce sur la rivière des Outaouais. En 1650, une bataille avec les Iroquois a eu lieu et avec la disparition des Algonquins, l'île est restée inhabitée pendant quelque 170 ans.

 

C'est à partir de 1818 que les Européens ont commencé à s'installer sur l'Isle-aux- Allumettes. En général, ils travaillaient comme bûcherons ou pour la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson qui avait un poste de traite juste en amont de Fort William. Comme le moyen de transport privilégié était encore la rivière, la majorité des familles ont construit leurs maisons au sud de l'île.

 

En 1836, les Pères de Bellefeuille et Dupuis ont déclaré à l'évêque de Montréal que «soixante familles vivaient sur ​​l'île", et, "il devrait y avoir un effort concerté fait pour les intérêts religieux des colons et des Indiens."  En 1839, la paroisse de l'église de Saint-Alphonse de l'Isle-aux-Allumettes a été fondée à Church Point. En 1853, un violent incendie détruisit presque tous les bâtiments y compris l'église ;  par la suite, la population s'est installée dans la partie nord de l'île, sur le site actuel du village de Chapeau.

 

En 1885, des dispositions ont été prises pour ériger la nouvelle église en pierre à Chapeau. La première pierre fut bénie et dédiée à Saint-Alphonse-de-Liguori, le 12 décembre 1888.

 

Construite pour servir comme cathédrale pour un diocèse qui ne s'est jamais concrétisé, on y a célébré les offices pour la population de la région pendant plus d'un siècle. Le bâtiment historique a deux jubés; le jubé supérieur abrite un grand orgue, conçu et construit par les frères Casavant de Saint-Hyacinthe (Québec). L'église entière démontre un savoir-faire minutieux : les peintures murales peintes à la main, une chaire qui est le double de celle de la cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris, des sculptures élégantes et une scène apostolique sculptée, importées de France. Les splendides vitraux sont de véritables œuvres d'art.

 

L'église, désignée site patrimonial par le gouvernement du Québec, a été récemment restaurée. Elle reste un témoignage durable de la foi des prêtres et des gens d'une autre époque.

 

Église Saint-Alphonse

rue Saint-Jacques
Chapeau (Québec) 
J0X 1M0
* Non accessible aux fauteuils roulants