About

General Director

Phillip Holmes

 

Phillip Holmes, bass-baritone, lives in Norway Bay, Quebec, and has studied voice, piano and organ extensively.  He has performed nationally and internationally and has won numerous awards and scholarships. 

 

In 2006 Phillip Holmes completed a Bachelor of Music Degree in Voice Performance, at the University of Ottawa, where he studied with Lawrence Ewashko.  Previously he studied voice with Patricia Kern at the University of Toronto.  He has trained with Mervin Fick, (Toronto), María Guinand, (Germany) and bass-baritone Daniel Lichti, (Kitchener-Waterloo). 

 

Mr. Holmes has sung with the Ottawa Choral Society, the Cantata Singers, CAMAC, the Cathedral Choir of Men and Boys, The Valley Festival, Seventeen Voyces and Toronto’s MacMillan Singers.  He has performed as a soloist in Mendelssohn’s Elijah, Brahms’ Requiem, Handel’s Messiah, Faure’s Requiem, Bach’s St Matthew Passion, and St John Passion, Rossini’s Stabat Mater, Rutter’s Mass for the Children, Vaughn William’s Five Mystical Songs and Peter Cornelius’ Weihnachtslieder

 

Mr. Holmes premiered the role of the Robber Father in Bruce Nichol’s opera, A Christmas Rose, and the lead role of Colonel John By in Timothy and Laura Piper’s musical, Bye Bye Bytown.  He appeared as Alidoro in Opera Lyra Ottawa’s production of Cinderella and as Paris in their production of Romeo and Juliet.

 

In 2006 Phillip Holmes was a finalist in the Bravo television series Bathroom Divas which won a Gemini Award. 

 

From 2001-2007, Mr. Holmes performed with the Bachakademie Festival Chor & Orchester directed by Helmuth Rilling for the Europäishes Musikfest, Stuttgart, Germany.  Performances included Verdi’s Requiem and Messa per Rossini, Bruckner’s Te Deum, Beethoven’s 9th Symphony and Fidelio, Mendelssohn’s Elijah and Britten’s War Requiem.  

 

Mr. Holmes teaches Theatre Arts at Philemon Wright High School, Gatineau, Quebec, where he has directed the musicals, Grease, Annie, Les Misérables, Jesus Christ Superstar, Into the Woods, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, RENT,- (2013, Cappies Award for Best Musical), and most recently, Legally Blonde.  He continues to perform, and teaches voice and piano privately.  In 2012 Phillip Holmes founded, and became General Director of Under the Pines, a classical music festival, which takes place in Bristol, Quebec.

À Propos

Phillip HolmesDirector général

Phillip Holmes

 

Phillip Holmes est un baryton-basse qui habite à Norway Bay, Québec. Il a étudié pendant des années le chant, le piano et l'orgue. Il a donné des concerts au Canada et à l'étranger, et a obtenu plusieurs prix et bourses d'études.

 

En 2006, Holmes complète un Baccalauréat en musique (performance vocale) à l’Université d’Ottawa, où il étudie avec Lawrence Ewashko. Antérieurement, il avait étudié le chant avec Patricia Kern à l’Université de Toronto. Il a aussi travaillé avec Mervin Fick (Toronto), María Guinand (Allemagne) et Daniel Lichti (Kitchener- Waterloo).

 

Phillip Holmes a chanté avec la Ottawa Choral Society, les Cantata Singers, CAMAC, le Cathedral Choir of Men and Boys, le Valley Festival, Seventeen Voyces et MacMillan Singers de Toronto. Il a été soliste dans Mendelssohn - Elijah, Brahms - Requiem, Handel - Messiah, Fauré - Requiem, Bach - La passion selon Saint-Jean, Rossini - Stabat Mater, Rutter - Messe des enfants, Vaughn William - Five Mystical Songs et Peter Cornelius - Weihnachtslieder.

 

Phillip Holmes a été le premier à jouer Robber Father dans l’opéra de Bruce Nichol, A Christmas Rose, et il a tenu le rôle principal du Colonel John Bye dans la comédie musicale de Timothy et Laura Piper, Bye Bye Bytown. Il a joué Alidoro dans Cendrillon, produit par l’Opéra Lyra d’Ottawa, ainsi que Paris dans Roméo et Juliette.

 

En 2006 Holmes a été finaliste dans la série de télévision de Bravo, Bathroom Divas, qui a gagné un prix Gemini.

 

De 2001 à 2007 Holmes s’est produit à Stuggart en Allemagne avec le International Bachakademie Festival Choir & Orchestra dirigé par Helmuth Rilling pour le Europäishes Musikfest. Ses performances incluent Verdi - Requiem et  Messa per Rossini, Bruckner - Te Deum, Beethoven - 9e Symphonie et Fidelio, Mendelssohn - Elijah et Britten - War Requiem.

 

Phillip Holmes est professeur d'art dramatique à l’école secondaire Philemon Wright à Gatineau, Québec. Il y a dirigé des comédies musicales telles Grease, Annie, Les Misérables, Jesus Christ Superstar, Into the Woods, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, RENT, - (2013, Cappies prix de la meilleure comédie musicale), et dernièrement, Legally Blonde. Il continue de donner des concerts et offre des cours privés de chant et de piano. Depuis 2012, Phillip Holmes est membre-fondateur et directeur général de Sous les pins, un festival de musique classique qui a lieu à Bristol, Québec.