About

Board of Directors

Jim Ritchie - Chair 


Jim Ritchie is a native of Ottawa who divides his time between his home in Kanata, his cottage in Norway Bay- family owned since 1916, and winter retreats to Florida.  Jim has had careers in banking, taxation and real estate.  He has enjoyed his years of singing in various choirs and is active in his church.

 

Jim has been involved with Ottawa Little Theatre and especially Kanata Theatre where, apart from time on stage, he and his wife Joan, have managed Box Office and Front of House for many years. He can still be seen in cloak and Russian fur hat greeting audiences at the door as they arrive for a performance at Kanata Theatre on the coldest of winter nights.

 

Jim is in the process of having his 1851 Chickering Square Grand Piano rebuilt which will encourage him to get back to playing and enhance his love of classical music.

 

As President of the Norway Bay Historical Society, Jim is fascinated with the great history of the Pontiac. He feels honoured at being asked to serve on the Board of Directors for Under the Pines Music Festival, and looks forward with excitement to the 2013 season.

 

 

Vacant - Vice Chair


Carol Bretzloff-Holmes - Secretary

 

Carol Bretzloff-Holmes is a professional artist and retired visual arts teacher who developed and taught the Fine Arts Program at Pontiac High School for 35 years.

 

She has conducted workshops in visual arts for elementary and secondary teachers for the Western Quebec School Board and has held summer classes for children at her farm in Clarendon.  Carol exhibits her sculpture extensively and has curated two exhibitions of her father, Gilbert Bretzloff’s, World War II watercolours.  She is currently working on the book, Gilbert Bretzloff: A Soldier’s Sketchbook from Normandy to the Rhineland, 1944-1945.

 

Carol was one of the founding members of the Pontiac Artist Studio Tour and remains
a life long promoter and supporter of the arts. 

 

She and her husband David Holmes live on Netherleigh Farm in Clarendon, Quebec.

À Propos

Conseil d'administration

Jim Ritchie - Président

 

Jim Ritchie est originaire d'Ottawa. Il partage son temps entre son domicile à Kanata, son chalet de Norway Bay que sa famille possède depuis 1916, et des retraites d'hiver en Floride. Jim a fait carrière dans le secteur bancaire, la fiscalité et l'immobilier. Il a pris plaisir à chanter pendant des années dans diverses chorales et est toujours actif dans son église.

 

Jim s'est impliqué dans le Ottawa Little Theatre et surtout au Kanata Theatre où, en dehors du temps sur scène, lui et sa femme Joan, ont géré la billetterie et le service à la clientèle pendant de nombreuses années. Il peut encore être vu avec sa cape et son chapeau russe en fourrure accueillant l'assistance à son arrivée au Kanata Theatre par les grands froids des nuits d'hiver.

Jim est en train d'avoir son grand piano Chickering Square de 1851 reconstruit ce qui l'incite à rejouer et à renforcer son amour de la musique classique.

 

En tant que président de la Norway Bay Historical Society, Jim est fasciné par la riche histoire du Pontiac. Il se sent honoré d'avoir été invité à siéger au conseil d'administration du Festival de musique Sous les pins et attend avec enthousiasme la saison 2013.

 

 

Vacant - Vice-président

 

 

Carol Bretzloff-Holmes - Secrétaire

 

Carol Bretzloff-Holmes est une artiste professionnelle et enseignante des arts visuels à la retraite. Elle a développé et a enseigné le programme des beaux-arts au Pontiac High School pendant 35 ans.

 

Elle a organisé des ateliers en arts visuels pour les enseignants du primaire et du secondaire pour la Western Quebec School Board et a offert des cours d'été aux enfants dans sa ferme à Clarendon. Carol a exposé ses sculptures à maintes reprises et a organisé deux expositions des aquarelles de la Seconde guerre mondiale de son père, Gilbert Bretzloff. Elle travaille actuellement sur le livre intitulé Gilbert Bretzloff : Le carnet de croquis d'un soldat : de la Normandie à la Rhénanie, 1944-1945.

 

Carol est l'une des membres-fondatrices de la Tournée des ateliers d'artistes du Pontiac et reste une grande promotrice et protectrice des arts.

 

Elle et son mari, David Holmes, demeurent sur la Ferme Netherleigh à Clarendon  (Québec).